Three mayors re-elected Tuesday

Published 10:37 pm Tuesday, August 28, 2012

All three incumbent Chilton County mayors running in municipal elections were re-elected Tuesday.

Billy Joe Driver was re-elected to four more years as Clanton’s mayor, in another close election with former councilwoman Ann Baker.

Eddie Reed in Jemison and Dearl Hilyer in Thorsby were also re-elected, while Maplesville will have a runoff later this year.

Driver earned 1,265 votes (or 52.4 percent of the vote); Baker had 1,134 (47 percent); and Michael Mims had 15 (0.6 percent).

Driver thanked his supporters and said he would work even for those who didn’t vote for him.

“I will do my best not to let the people of Clanton down these next four years,” he said. “Anybody that has any ideas about how to make things better, just give me a call.”

Incumbents Greg DeJarnett and Jeff Price were re-elected to another term on the Clanton City Council.

DeJarnett defeated Paul Dickerson 173-150, or 53.6 percent to 46.4 percent, in District 4.

Price defeated Charles Powell 593-152, or 79.6 percent to 20.4 percent, in District 1.

In District 3, Sammy Wilson defeated incumbent Bobby Easterling 272-248, or 52.3 percent to 47.7 percent.

Bobby Cook and Mary Mell Smith were unopposed in District 2 and District 5, respectively.

In Jemison, Mayor Eddie Reed won re-election with 352 votes (or 55.3 percent of the vote), compared with councilwoman Faye King’s 285 votes (44.7 percent).

Incumbent George Brasher was re-elected to another term on the city council.

Brasher defeated Jeff Townsend 98-79, or 55.4 percent to 44.6 percent, in District 1.

In District 2, James “Jim” Henderson defeated incumbent Donnie Lane 57-35, or 62 percent to 38 percent.