Three mayors re-elected Tuesday

Published 10:37 pm Tuesday, August 28, 2012

In District 4, Rex Bittle had 57 votes and Russell “Rusty” Jones had 55 votes, but results of who won have not been confirmed.

Bittle said no mention of provisional ballots occurred Tuesday, and that they are being delivered to the Chilton County Probate office to be counted Wednesday morning.

The results will also depend on how many provisional ballots are designated for each district. Check and Thursday’s print edition for updates.

Incumbents Robert Morris and Sam Reed were unopposed in districts 3 and 5, respectively.

Dearl Hilyer was re-elected as mayor of Thorsby, receiving 438 votes (79.6 percent) while opponent Tara Hunt Jewell had 112 votes (20.4 percent).

In District 3, a run-off will be held between Randall Higgins and incumbent Willis Britt for a term on the town council. Robert Bland and Michael Patterson were eliminated from the race.

Higgins had 249 votes (45.7 percent); Britt had 193 votes (35.4 percent); Bland had 68 votes (12.5); and Patterson had 35 votes (6.4 percent).

Incumbents Neil Benson in District 1, Jean Nelson in District 2 and Marvin Crumpton in District 4 were unopposed.

In District 5, Roger Marcus was also unopposed.

A run-off will be held between Maplesville mayoral candidates John Caudle and W.C. Hayes Jr. on Tuesday, Oct. 9.

Ray Mitchell was eliminated from the race.

Hayes received 94 votes (44.3 percent); Caudle received 71 votes (33.5 percent); and Mitchell received 47 (22.2 percent).

Hal Harrison was elected to the town council in District 1, defeating Jimmy Jones.

Harrison had 21 votes (58.3 percent), and Jones had 15 votes (41.7 percent).

In District 2, Sheila Hall defeated incumbent Mike Bearden and Jennifer Kamerer.