• 73°

Commission approves nominations to Solid Waste Authority (updated)

The Chilton County Commission unanimously voted to approve and appoint nominations to the Chilton County Solid Waste Authority on Monday.

The nine board members will have staggered terms and the members are composed of four mayors or council members from the four municipalities, one from the county independent haulers association, two commissioners and the rest being residents of Chilton County.

Those appointed for the two-year terms that will expire June 25, 2015, were Jemison Councilman George Brasher, Maplesville Mayor W.C. Hayes and Rose Landrum.

The three individuals appointed for four-year terms that will expire June 25, 2017, were Clanton Mayor Billy Joe Driver, Thorsby Mayor Jean Nelson and Allen Payton.

Commissioners appointed the six-year terms that will expire June 25, 2019, to commissioner Heedy Hayes, commission chairman Allen Caton and D.J. Nix.

The commission previously passed a resolution during the Nov. 26 meeting for nominations to the Solid Waste Authority.

The nominations come after the Solid Waste Authority learned in early November that terms for the current board members expired, leaving the Solid Waste Authority with no authority until new positions were reappointed.

The Solid Waste Authority meets on the third Tuesday of each month at the Thorsby Annex.