Pierce named 2010 Miss Swedish Fest

Published 10:39 pm Tuesday, October 12, 2010

Miss Swedish Fest winners: Shown (L-R) are Hanna Yeargan, third alternate; Brianna Veazey, first alternate, photogenic and first impression winner; Candace Pierce, queen; Macy McGriff, second alternate; and Marisa Hilyer, fourth alternate.

It was not difficult to find Candace Pierce after she was named the 2010 Miss Swedish Fest Tuesday night — the crown said it all.

“That crown is huge,” Pierce said backstage following a photo shoot. “I couldn’t believe I actually won.”

She followed in the footsteps of her aunt, Angela Pierce, who carried the title in the late ’90s.

Pierce added that she was excited about the grand prize $1,000 scholarship. She plans to attend Auburn University and pursue a degree in nursing.

Pierce’s court included First Alternate, Photogenic and First Impression Winner Brianna Veazey; Second Alternate Macy McGriff, Third Alternate Hanna Yeargan and Fourth Alternate Marisa Hilyer.

Tuesday night’s portion of the pageant also included the Tiny Miss and Young Miss divisions. Kalyn Smith was named 2010 Tiny Miss Swedish Fest, and Hannah Tierce was named 2010 Young Miss Swedish Fest.

Tierce’s court included: First Alternate Madison Gunn, Second Alternate and Photogenic Winner Brooke Wilkerson, Third Alternate Carlea Swindle and Fourth Alternate Mallory Stewart.

Smith’s court included: First Alternate and Photogenic Winner Halle Sullivan, Second Alternate Haylie Claire Patterson, Third Alternate Kailee Williams and Fourth Alternate Mattie Woodall.

The three queens named in Monday night’s pageant were Tiniest Miss Swedish Fest Lexie Deavers, Little Miss Swedish Fest Hope Knight, and Junior Miss Swedish Fest Catherine Rowe.

Young Miss Winners: Shown are (L-R) Carlea Swindle, third alternate; Madison Gunn, first alternate; Hannah Tierce, queen; Brooke Wilkerson, second alternate and photogenic winner; and Mallory Stewart, fourth alt.

Tiny Miss Winners: Shown are (L-R) Kailee Williams, third alternate; Halle Sullivan, first alternate and photogenic winner; Kalyn Smith, queen; Haylie Claire Patterson, second alternate; and Mattie Woodall, fourth alternate.