Archived Story

Commission votes to help hospital board become healthcare authority

Published 4:44pm Tuesday, September 24, 2013

The Chilton County Commission voted on Monday to help the hospital board become the Chilton County Healthcare Authority.

The current hospital board told commissioners in July they thought it would be best to update the term “hospital board” to the “healthcare authority.”

In July, commissioners granted county attorney John Hollis Jackson permission to start the process of changing the name of the hospital board.

Jackson told commissioners on Monday that based on what the hospital board asked the commission to do, he would request a resolution approving the hospital board’s application.

The vote is more of an attempt to give more legal protection to the county.

Commissioner Shannon Welch made the motion to adopt the resolution with commissioners Heedy Hayes, Allen Caton, Greg Moore, Bobby Agee and Tim Mims voting in favor of the motion.

Commissioner Joe Headley abstained from the vote.

The commission also voted to appoint a list of nine directors to the Chilton County Healthcare Authority.

The people appointed on Monday are the current nine hospital board members.

The number of individuals to serve on the board will stay at nine and each director’s term will not exceed six years.

The commission appointed Samuel Reed, Judson Messer and Johnny McKinney to serve a two-year term; Neil Bice, Robert Threlkeld and Sherrill White will serve a four-year term, and Ken Patterson, Allen Payton and Mildred Ellison will serve a six-year term.

Print Friendly

Editor's Picks

County school system’s enrollment increases

"I think people see it as an opportunity," Superintendent Tommy Glasscock said. "I think our growth is going to continue." Read more