Results in for June 21 runoff primary election

Published 8:54 am Wednesday, June 22, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By JOYANNA LOVE | Managing Editor

The Alabama Secretary of State has released the unofficial results for the June 21 election. These results will become official when the election is certified.

Katie Britt won the Republican Party candidate for U.S. Senator receiving 252,877 votes (63.01%). Opponent Mo Brooks received 148,420 votes (36.99%).

In Chilton County, Britt received 2,273 votes (57.43%), and Brooks received 1,685 (42.57%).

The Republican candidate for secretary of state in the general election will be Wes Allen after he received 247,805 votes (65.38%). Opponent Jim Zeigler received 131,199 votes (34.62%). In Chilton County, Allen received 2,720 votes (70.50%), and Zeigler received 1,138 votes (29.50%).

“It’s been a long and spirited primary election cycle,” Alabama Republican Party Chairman John Wahl said. “Our candidates have done an amazing job, working hard to meet the voters and make the case on why they would best serve our state. Our Party is blessed to have such an incredible pool of talented individuals who want to make a difference and promote good, conservative government and principles. Congratulations to our nominees following today’s ALGOP Primary Election Runoff.”

Yolanda Rochelle Flowers became the Democratic Party candidate for governor after receiving 32,416 votes (55.15%). Opponent Malika Sanders Fortier received 26,363 votes (44.85%).

In Chilton County, Flowers received 54 votes (36.49%), and Flowers received 94 votes (63.51%).

Stan Cooke received 151,779 votes (42.54%) to become the Republican candidate for state auditor.

Jeremy H. Oden won the Public Service Commission, Place 1 candidate position with 175,601 votes (52.32%).

Public Service Commission, Place 2 Republican candidate is Chip Beeker after he received 215,095 votes (63.25%).

Statewide voter turnout was low with only 12.74% of registered voters casting a ballot.

The general election will be held on Nov. 8. Voting locations will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m.