School board accepts 12 resignations/ retirements

Published 3:00 pm Thursday, May 19, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By JOYANNA LOVE | Managing Editor

Several resignations and retirements were approved during the Chilton County Board of Education’s meeting on May 17.

The 12 approvals included Verbena custodian Juawana Hayes, LeCroy Career Technical Center Counselor Michelle Law, Chilton County High School teacher Taylor Hughes, Isabella Counselor Susan Ballew, Thorsby teacher Needra Henderson, Thorsby teacher Joy Headley, Verbena teacher Ruth Easterling, Jemison teacher Darrell baker, Child Nutrition employee Anita Mims, LeCroy Career Technical Center teacher Tracey Minor, Jemison bookkeeper Layle Ward and CCHS teacher Kimberly Adams.

Several potential new hires were removed from the list prior to the vote, so only nine certified employees were approved. Many of these were teachers transferring to different schools for the next school year. Brandy Spearman, Andrea Abbott and Amy Guy are transferring to Thorsby High School. Amber Chadwick is transferring to Isabella and Taylor Hardee is transferring to Clanton Elementary.

Two teachers were hired for Verbena High School. Other hires included a teacher for Maplesville and a teacher for Clanton Elementary.

Four leave of absences were also approved.