Strawberry Festival art contest winners announced

Published 8:35 pm Friday, April 22, 2022

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By Carey Reeder | Staff Writer

The art contest winners at the Strawberry Festival on April 9 were announced and recognized on April 21 at Richard H. Wood Memorial Park in Thorsby. The winners gathered in the park for pictures in front of the mural at the park.

Over 500 students entered the art contest. Each school who had a student place in the top three spots will receive a $100 donation to their art department from the Strawberry Festival Committee.

In photography, Cody Calfee took home first place. In the preschool aged groups category, First United Methodist Church won both first and second place ribbons.

Amy Cisson’s preschool class at First United Methodist Church won first place. Reed Stokes, Savanna Doody, Katherine Lambert, Sara Doody, Felicity Caudle, Noah Mitchell and Eli Short created the design.

Megan McCarter’s after-school program class won second place. Aaron Castleberry, Oakleigh Liveoa, Savanna Doody, Sara Doody, Elliot Teel, Carter Bowman, Noah Mitchell, Maren Davenport, Rylee Mitchell, Lawson Whitman, Elijah Short, Luke Bolding, Stella Barlow, Jessica Johnson, Wyatt Maddox, Reed Stokes, Layna Payton and Felicity Caudle collaborated on the design.

The preschool individual awards were won by Everlie Harrison from Clanton Elementary School in first place, Emma Katherine-Johnson from First Baptist Church in second place and Levi Connel from CES in third place.

The kindergarten thru second grade groups were broken into unframed and framed groups. The unframed group was won by Gloria Torres of Jemison Elementary School followed by Brianna Boswell of CES in second place and Ashtin Brock of Maplesville Elementary School in third place. Kylie Howell from Isabella won the framed category. Marissa Minor from JES finished second and Meladee Jones form CES was third.

The third through fifth grade group were split into framed and unframed categories as well with Sarah Bella Lykes from CES winning first place in the framed group. Ellie Harrison from CES placed second and Ryley Kleysteuber from Clanton Intermediate School earned third place. The unframed first place winner was Genesis Hernandez from CES followed by Kaitlin Littlefield from Isabella in second and Ellison Ferguson from CES in third place.

The sixth through eighth grade group had three different categories of judging. Pastel paper was the first with Jordan Phillipe from Clanton Middle School taking home first place. Sariah Dailey from CMS placed second and Faith Reid from CMS placed third. The paper group was won by Kinnsley Traywick from CIS followed by Mattie Frederick from CMS in second place and Addison Malone from CIS in third place. Finally, the canvas and frames category was won by Kinzely Price of CMS followed by Ava Baugh in second place and Karlee Cleckler in third place, both from CMS as well.

The art contest will be a part of the Strawberry Festival next year on April 22, 2023.