Commissioners sworn in, Parnell named chairman

Published 4:20 pm Thursday, November 12, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

A new group of Chilton County Commissioners began their four-year term with a swearing-in ceremony followed by a work session and meeting on Nov. 11.

Allen Williams, Darrell Bone and Randell Kelley all took part in their first meeting as commissioners, as they joined Matt Mims, Joseph Parnell, Jimmie Hardee and Joe Headley as incumbents.

County attorney Roger Bates welcomed the three new elected officials and informed them that they will have to go through training, which is required for all first-time commissioners.

Parnell was named Commission chairman, and Jimmie Hardee vice chairman for the upcoming year. Both decisions were voted on unanimously.

“We’ve got to learn each other’s personalities and how to work with each other,” Parnell said. “I believe we will.”

The Commission agreed to continue requiring a topic to be discussed during a work session before being brought to be voted on in a regular meeting.

It has been a process in place since the second meeting of 2016.

Commissioner Allen Williams was the only vote against continuing the rule.

His opposition stemed from the fact that he believes such discussion should take place during a regular meeting where it can be recorded as part of the minutes.

Parnell, Headley and Hardee each said that they have appreciated how much having work sessions prior to meetings has helped.

The Commission approved the purchase of a limb truck off the Sourcewell bid list for $163,850. It will be paid for by money within the general fund.

“It will greatly speed up the clean-up,” County Engineer Tony Wearren said.

Payment of $3,700 to Icotech, Inc. was also approved for the county jail’s emergency replacement of an ECON server. The payment was paid for through the jail maintenance fund.

Sheriff John Shearon stressed the importance of getting the emergency replacement.

“That’s the brain that operates our doors and everything with the jail,” Shearon said.

In other news from the meeting, the Commission:

  • Hired Renae Hughes, Cameron Hubbard, Luke Walker and Gene Mayfield as full-time corrections officers.
  • Hired Tyler Smitherman and Keith Crosby as courthouse and tag office security.
  • Authorized the chairman to sign the Chilton County Board of Education Memorandum of Understanding, which deals with school resource officers.
  • Hired James Hathcock and Jonathan Goggins as full-time laborers in the litter control department.
  • Approved a request by Revenue Commissioner Tim Little to give access to to two employees for the purpose of using the site to help determine reappraisal values.
  • Approved the transfer of a black 2009 F-150 maintenance pickup truck to Minooka Park.
  • Hired Paul McFarland as a truck driver with the road department.
  • The next Commission meeting will be Nov. 24 with a work session at 5 p.m. followed by a voting session at 6 p.m. It will take place in the courthouse.