Clanton leadership sees changes

Published 12:21 pm Monday, November 2, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By JOYANNA LOVE/ Managing Editor

Newly elected Clanton Mayor Jeff Mims and Clanton City Council members Billy Singleton and Wade Watley were sworn into office on Nov. 2.

Returning Council members Mary Mell Smith, Awlahjaday Agee and Sammy Wilson were also sworn in.

Mims made several recommendations for appointments to departments and various boards during the meeting that followed.

Some, such as the police chief nomination, were unanimous, but others were tabled for lack of a majority vote. A measure takes four votes to pass.

Erick Smitherman was unanimously approved as the new Clanton Police Chief. Other unanimously approved items were David Driver as Clanton Fire Chief, Mims as Superintendent of the Utility Board, Rhonda Hardesty as municipal judge, Amanda Baxley as city prosecutor and Velma Tinsley as city magistrate.

Establishing a Mayor Pro Tem for the Council was tabled until a later meeting after four names were voted on, and none received the necessary four votes.

Mims recommendation for Jonathan Seals as city clerk also failed.

“I think the City of Clanton would be well served if we took applications for this job,” Smith said. “We have already been told that this is one of the most important jobs within the city.”

She said since the current city clerk had been in that position for 35 years, it would be good to not rush the decision and take applications.”

Singleton and Agee agreed.

A chief of staff voluntary position was established. Mims described this unpaid position as someone who would do “whatever I need him to do.”  Bob Woods was approved to the position.

A city economic development advisory board was also established.

Positions for various existing boards were also approved.