Several candidates to run for House District 49 seat

Published 1:59 pm Wednesday, June 3, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

By JOYANNA LOVE/ Managing Editor

Six Republican candidates and one Democratic candidate have qualified to run in a special election for Alabama House District 49.

According to a press release by the Alabama Republican party, the candidates include Russell Bedsole of Alabaster, Donna Strong of Maylene, James Dean of Alabaster, Jackson McNeely of Brierfield, Chuck Martin of Centreville and Mimi Penhale of Alabaster.

Information from the Alabama Democratic Party named Cheryl Patton of Montevallo as a candidate in the race.

Gov. Kay Ivey had set June 2 as the deadline for the special election. A primary election will be held on Aug. 4.

Any run-off elections needed would be held on Sept. 1, prior to the Nov. 17 general election.

The District 49 seat was formerly held by Rep. April Weaver, who resigned to accept a federal appointment to be a regional director for Region IV of the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

House District 49 includes portions of Bibb, Shelby and Chilton counties. The portion of Chilton County in this district includes Jemison.

Chilton County Republican voters have another election to decide on before the special election.

The Republican primary election runoff for Alabama Senator will be held on July 14. The vote had been rescheduled during the stay-at-home restrictions.

On June 3, the Office of the Alabama Secretary of State issued a statement reminding those that need to vote by absentee ballot in the runoff election that they have 30 days from June 9 to fill out the necessary paperwork. More information and the necessary forms can be found at

The Secretary of State’s office has also worked with local election administrators to ensure that precautions are being taken in light of the coronavirus pandemic.