County Commission will have new members after primary shakeup

Published 9:40 pm Tuesday, March 3, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

No matter what happens in the upcoming general election, the Chilton County Commission will have some new members.

Current commissioners Allen Caton and Steve Langston did not receive enough votes in the primary and will not be in contention for the general election when Democratic candidates and the seven primary winners from the Republican side square off later this year.

Current Commission chairman Joseph Parnell received the most votes with 8,024. Also receiving enough votes to move on to the general election were Darrell Bone (6,959), Matt Mims (6,906), Allen Williams (6,593), Randell Kelley (6,573), Jimmie Hardee (6,167) and Joe Headley (5,510).

Caton (4,653),  Langston (4,143) and Glenda Strength (3,934) fell out of the top seven.

In the race for Chilton County Revenue Commissioner, incumbent Tim Little received 5,443 votes to opponent Jeremy Penley’s 3,364.

As far as the vote in Chilton County goes, Tommy Tuberville outpaced fellow Republican Senate candidates Jeff Sessions (1,883) and Bradley Byrne (1,758) with a total of 4,544. No other candidate received more than 650 votes in the race.

For Democratic nominee for president, Joe Biden received more local votes than Bernie Sanders at 856 to 231.