2018 primary election results

Published 10:34 pm Tuesday, June 5, 2018

The following are the winners from the 2018 primary election in Chilton County on June 5.

Jason Griffin defeated Tommy Glasscock in the race for Superintendent of the Chilton County Board of Education with 5,276 to 3,395 votes.

The next Chilton County Probate Judge will come down to a runoff between Rex Cleckler and Jason Calhoun. Cleckler received 3,512 votes compared to 3,137 for Calhoun.

John Shearon defeated Robbie Autery 6,423 to 2,635 to remain Chilton County Sheriff.

The seven Chilton County Board of Education candidates that made the cut included Lori Patterson receiving the most votes with 7,402 followed by Pam Price with 6,635, Paula B. Thornton with 6,612, Brian “Bucky” Jackson with 6,077, Angie Sanderson with 5,442, Keith Moore with 5,362 and Chris Smith with 5,007.

Aaron Ellison will be Chilton County Coroner after defeating Jim Shannon 5,859 to 2,841.

Renee Powers defeated Bob Sanders to claim a seat on the state Republican executive committee as Chilton County Place No. 1.

Jimmy Martin received the most votes in Chilton County in the state representative District 42 race with 3,906 votes over Jimmie Hardee with 2,611.

April Weaver followed suit in the race for state representative District 49 with more votes in Chilton County than Donna Strong. Weaver received 753 votes compared to 237 for Strong.

Terry Martin received 38 percent of the vote to top the race for state representative District 81 in Chilton County.

In the race for governor Kay Ivey received the most Republican votes in Chilton County with 5,492, while Walt Maddox received the most Democratic votes in the county with 285.

Twinkle Cavanaugh narrowly outgained Will Ainsworth in Chilton County in the race for lieutenant governor with 3,339 to 3,086 votes.

Steve Marshall received 2,710 Republican votes in Chilton County in the race for attorney general compared to 2,610 votes for Troy King. Joseph Siegelman received 332 Democratic votes in Chilton County.

Provisional ballots were not included in the results.