LCTC honors students who completed program

Published 3:57 pm Thursday, May 10, 2018

By JOYANNA LOVE/ Senior Staff Writer

LeCroy Career Technical Center honored seniors who had completed three classes in their content area during Awards Day on May 10.

Morning and afternoon ceremonies were held to recognize the students during the time that they ordinarily come to class at LeCroy.

Each student received a medal and a certificate of completion.

Career tech director Dara Norman said most of the students that complete this number of classes in their field will also complete the requirements for certification while at LeCroy.

Completers were recognized in auto service technology, collision repair technology, cosmetology, health science, horticulture, HVACR, industrial technology and engineering, public service law and public service fire and welding.

“I want you to know how proud I am of these students,” Norman said, during the morning ceremony.

He encouraged students to stop by for a visit anytime and keep in contact about how they are doing.

Chilton County Schools director Tommy Glasscock spoke at the morning ceremony.

“I congratulate you on the accomplishment that you’ve made and the accomplishments that you are going to make when you leave here,” Glasscock said.

He encouraged the students to embrace hard work and to be a positive marketing voice for Chilton County being a career technical community.

“Last week, I had a young man who was a pipe welder, makes over $100,000 a year, come to see me,” Glasscock said. “He said, ‘Mr. Glasscock, I never thought, being an old country boy, that I would ever make more that $100,000 a year.”

Many of the students being recognized plan to continue their education by attending college.

Glasscock cautioned the students not to attend college just because all of their friends are going to college.

He told the students that they have a competitive edge if they take advantage of the resources around them.

Students of the Year were recognized during each ceremony. Gavin Burch, Lucia Flores, Kaylee Mandrell and Adeline Delaluz were recognized during the morning ceremony.

Members of the National Technical Honor Society were presented. Lucia Flores, Edson Jimenez, Tyler Means are Zachary Vowell were the Honor Society members recognized during the morning presentation.