Career tech students of the year awarded at banquet

Published 1:00 pm Friday, February 16, 2018


Students of the Year from various career technical schools and programs across Chilton County were recognized at the 12th annual Career Tech Extravaganza on Feb. 15 at the Clanton Conference and Performing Arts Center.

“Once you learn a trade, no one can take it from you,” guest speaker James Connell, a Jemison High School graduate, told award recipients. “You own it. You can take it anywhere you go — there’s a need for it.”

Thirty-three students were recognized from the following categories: Agriscience, LeCroy Career Technical Center, Marketing/Business Education, Project Lead the Way, Work Based Learning and Family and Consumer Sciences and Culinary Arts.

In a special ceremony, students were presented alongside their nominators and awarded medals.

Erika Clackley of Verbena High School said she was surprised to be named Student of the Year.

“It felt really great,” she said, explaining that her instructor and nominator Samantha Robinson had pulled her outside of class to give her the news.

Jose Guzman of LeCroy Technical Center had a similar reaction.

“I was shocked… I don’t know what I did to earn this, but I’m very appreciative and thankful,” he said. “This is the biggest accomplishment I’ve done.”

Jemison High School’s Annie Smith said that after four years of pushing herself hard in various school involvements, she was “really happy” to receive the award.

“I’ve literally stuck my neck out for my [agriscience] department at my high school,” she said. “Getting this award shows me that hard work does pay off, and there’s a light at the end of the tunnel.”

At the conclusion of Student of the Year award distribution, CCACTE President Landon Lowery announced scholarship drawings winners.

Middle school students Cole Tignor of Clanton and Brian Austin Smith, Makalah Skinner and Canaan Henderson of Jemison received $100 donations to fund high school career technical and student organization fee.

Senior scholarship winners included the following:

J.E. Norris of Maplesville High School received the Mike Robertson Scholarship, Dylan Levering of Jemison High School received the C. W. Johnson Education Foundation Scholarship and Justin Quinn of Verbena High School received the Cliff Ousley Memorial Scholarship.

Thanks to generous donors, 10 more scholarships were awarded to the following students: Clayton Collum, Josh Smitherman, Adilene Delaluz, Shakea Mitchell, Erika Clackley, Elizabeth Moats, Rachel Snow, Kaylee Mandrell, Rhobyn Dickerson and Nicholas Bear.

CTE Students of the Year are Kaleb Taylor, Olivia Payne, Annie Smith, Brian Austin Smith, J. E. Norris, Carson Littleton, Justin Quinn, Andre’ Nix, Gavin Burch, Lucia Flores, Jasmine Headley, Garret Wells, Josh Smitherman, Nicholas Bear, Adilene Delaluz, Kaylee Mandrell, Jose Guzman-Lopez, Ja’Starza White, Asia Davidson, Charlsie Murphy, Dylan Levering, Canaan Henderson, Shanda Manasco, Clayton Collum, Rhobyn Dickerson, Victoria Hyder, Cole Tignor, Elizabeth Moats, Haley Blanchard, Makalah Skinner, Shakea Mitchell, Rachel Snow and Erica Clackley.

Career Tech Ambassadors are Zoe Batchelor, Cole Bates, Josh Bullis, Darren Campbell, Hazel Clackley, Jose Compos, Denise Cook, Cristy Cubbison, Blake Davenport, Madison Easterling, Brynn Elliott, Emile Hayes, Forest Johnson, Logan Mayfield, Andrew Milford, T.R. Mims, Addie Niamon, Taylor Ray, Jordan Short, Brandon Short, Jagger Teague, Josh Traywick and Amiiya Williams.

To view more photos, visit