LIHEAP grants to aid Chilton, Shelby County families

Published 8:54 am Tuesday, December 12, 2017


CLANTON – Eleventh Area of Alabama Opportunity Action Committee was recently named as one of 21 community service agencies that were issued Low Income Home Energy Assistance Program grants by Gov. Kay Ivey, according to a recent press release from her office. Eleventh Area, which is based in Clanton, serves low income individuals and families in Autauga, Chilton, Elmore and Shelby counties.

According to the press release, Ivey said she felt the need to help low income families throughout Alabama with energy-related expenses and preparation for winter weather after witnessing the recent snowstorm on Dec. 8.

“These LIHEAP funds ensure that low-income residents, including the elderly, children and those with disabilities, do not have to endure a winter without heat,” Ivey said in the press release. “Often, these families are forced to weigh between having heated homes or food on the table and necessary medicine, and these funds provide much-needed assistance.”

According to the press release, Shelby and Chilton County residents can apply to Eleventh Area, who will determine eligibility based on household income, family size and available resources.

Funds for the LIHEAP grants were provided by the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services. A total of $37.3 million in grants will be distributed to each agency by the Alabama Department of Economic and Community Affairs.

“At Gov. Ivey’s request, ADECA’s Energy Division is making these funds available as expedient as possible so qualified families can take advantage of this program as we enter the cold season under a winter weather advisory,” ADECA Director Kenneth Boswell said in the press release.

The following agencies also received grants: Community Action Agency of Northwest Alabama Inc., Community Action Partnership of Huntsville/Madison and Limestone Counties Inc., Community Action Partnership of Northeast Alabama Inc., Community Action Partnership of North Alabama Inc., Marion-Winston Counties Community Action Committee Inc., Community Action of Etowah County Inc., Community Action Agency of Talladega, Clay, Randolph, Calhoun and Cleburne Counties, Walker County Community Action Agency, Jefferson County Committee for Economic Opportunity, Community Services of West Alabama Inc., Pickens County Community Action Committee and Community Development Corp Inc., Hale Empowerment and Revitalization Organization Inc., Community Action Committee Inc. of Chambers-Tallapoosa-Coosa, Alabama council on Human Relations Inc., Macon-Russell Community Action Agency Inc., Montgomery County Action Agency, Organized Community Action Program Inc., Southeast Alabama Community Action Partnership Inc., Community Action Agency of South Alabama and Mobile Community Action Inc.

To learn more about qualifying for assistance from Eleventh Area, Chilton, Autauga and Elmore County residents can call 287-0139. Shelby County residents can call 669-8916.