Clanton municipal election candidates finalized

Published 4:59 pm Wednesday, July 20, 2016

Only one Clanton public official will be unopposed in the upcoming municipal election.

Mary Mell Smith, Councilwoman for District 1, will face no opposition in the Aug. 23 election; but all other councilmembers and incumbent Mayor Billy Joe Driver will be opposed.

Qualifying ended at 5 p.m. Tuesday.

All candidates who qualified are listed below.

•Mayor: Driver (incumbent), Lee Helms, Jason Pierce.

•District 1: Danny Carter, Charles Powell, Jeff Price (i).

•District 2: Lynn Best, Bobby Cook (i).

•District 3: Al Headley, Sammy Wilson (i).

•District 4: Awlahjaday Agee, Greg DeJarnett (i).

•District 5: Smith (i).