Graduation ceremonies scheduled for this week

Published 4:30 pm Monday, May 23, 2016

Not all graduation ceremonies at local high schools will be held on the same day this year.

Verbena High School’s graduates walked across the stage Monday, and Jemison High School’s graduation ceremony is scheduled for 6 p.m. Tuesday—both at the Clanton Conference and Performing Arts Center.

CPAC will also be the site of the Chilton County High School graduation ceremony at 6 p.m. Thursday.

Jemison and Verbena utilized CPAC to offer more space for attendees while keeping the ceremony indoors, but the schools had to find alternate dates.

All other ceremonies—at Isabella, Maplesville and Thorsby—will begin at 7 p.m. Thursday in their respective school auditoriums.

Tickets are required for entry into any of the ceremonies. Each graduating senior is typically granted a certain number of tickets to distribute among family and friends.

Chilton Christian Academy held its graduation ceremony May 20, with 13 students graduating.

Look for The Clanton Advertiser’s special graduation section of the newspaper to publish Thursday, featuring photos of all the local graduates. Also, photos from each local ceremony will appear this week in the newspaper and online at

Below are the sizes of graduating classes, and valedictorians and salutatorians for each local school:

Chilton County High School

•178 graduates

•Valedictorians and salutatorians were not available Monday.

Isabella High School

•26 graduates

•Valedictorians and salutatorians were not available Monday

Jemison High School

•140 graduates

•Valedictorians are Cameron Banks Woodley, Christopher Clay Cunningham, Meghan J. Jackson, Amayrani Pizano Garcia, Brooke Jones, James Jordan Mahaffey, Taylor Ray, Kelsey Mitchell, Michael Logan Ray and Lloyd Maxwell Riffe.

•Salutatorian is Christopher Trea Sanders.

Thorsby High School

•58 graduates

•Valedictorians are Taylor McManus and Sabrina Ellison.

•Salutatorian is Conner McRae.

Verbena High School

•39 graduates

•Valedictorians are Jason Stevie Rhodes and Raymond Blake Bulger II.

•Salutatorian is Makenzie Roller.