Local lawmakers appointed to committees

Published 11:10 am Thursday, January 15, 2015

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

The Alabama Senate completed its Organizational Session, and newly elected Sen. Clyde Chambliss landed key committee appointments for District 30.

Senate District 30 includes all or parts of Chilton, Autauga, Coosa, Elmore and Tallapoosa Counties.

The committees Chambliss will serve on include Agriculture, Conservation, and Forestry; County and Municipal Government; Business, Economic Development, and Fiscal Responsibility; Finance and Taxation General Fund; and Transportation and Energy.

“I am very pleased with my committee assignments,” Chambliss said in a release. “I made committee requests in the areas that I thought would be most helpful for serving the citizens of District 30. I look forward to working through these committees to develop and implement solutions that will make District 30 and the state of Alabama a better place for us all to live and work.”

Alabama House Speaker Mike Hubbard (R-Auburn) announced Wednesday the individuals from across the state that have been selected for leadership positions during the 2014 – 2018 quadrennium.

Alabama State Rep. Mark Tuggle (R-Alexander City) who serves Chilton County, was named chairman of the State Government Committee.

“We’ve made tremendous strides over the past four years towards improving education, growing the economy, and protecting the rights and values that Alabamians hold dear. I am confident that this group of legislators will continue to lead our fight and move Alabama forward,” Hubbard said in a release. “The backgrounds, talents, and proven leadership of each of these individuals makes them uniquely qualified to fill these posts, and I look forward to working with them over the next four years.”