Verbena inducts Junior Beta Club charter members

Published 4:55 pm Friday, April 4, 2014

4-6 Jr Beta Club_web

Verbena High School’s Junior Beta Club charter inductees recite the Junior Beta Club Pledge during a ceremony Friday at the school.

Forty-four students at Verbena High School became charter members of the school’s first Junior Beta Club during an induction ceremony in the VHS auditorium Friday.

Students in seventh, eighth and ninth grades who had earned an average grade of at least 88 and demonstrated leadership and service were invited to join the club.

Junior Beta Club sponsor Kelley Robertson said co-sponsor Dwight Swindle played a key role in establishing the club at VHS.

“Mr. Swindle has been heavily involved in Beta Club before, and he was instrumental in bringing it here,” Robertson said. “I’m honored to be one of the sponsors of this elite group. I’ve taught most of these students, and they really are kids that shine not only academically, but they also shine as leaders.”

VHS already has a Senior Beta Club, which will serve as a model for the Junior Beta Club.

“It is a service-led club with philanthropic endeavors,” Robertson said. “We will have community service projects; we just haven’t chosen ours yet.”

The induction ceremony included a candlelight ceremony in which students lit candles and explained what their different colors symbolized for club members.

Junior Class President Christian Agee presented a white candle for purity and faith; Junior Class Vice President Ashton Thomas presented a red candle for love and wisdom; Sophomore Class President Jacob Cleckler presented a blue candle for truth, constancy and fidelity; Sophomore Class Vice President Raymond Bulger II presented a black candle for dignity, restraint and seriousness; and Sophomore Class Secretary Makenzie Roller presented a gold candle for warmth, friendship and faithfulness.

Jennifer Rollins, the Alabama Beta Club state sponsor and field ambassador for 2010-2012, presented the Junior Beta Club charter to VHS Principal Kelvin Boulware.

Swindle presented the challenge to new members, followed by the response of candidate from freshman Sabrasha Osborne, a Junior Beta Club inductee.

Swindle led the inductees in saying the Junior Beta Club pledge.

Then, inductees took the stage one by one to receive their certificates and pins.

Robertson said some inductees received pins from their siblings in the Senior Beta Club.

Seventh grade inductees were: Austin R. Barber, Abigail G. Clackley, Erika E. Clackley, Nathan K. Evans, Ricky E. Gingo, Tanner E. Hunter, Jared S. McKinnon, Rosalie B. Ortigoza, Austin C. Reynolds, Martin Sanchez, Ciara N. Towers, Brandon E. Wells and Janiya S. White.

Eighth grade inductees were: Christopher D. Fuller, Carissa M. Hall, Jasmine Headley, Jay W. Hunter, Brandon J. McCullough, William Blake Nelson, Brenda Parrales-Ayala, Courtney A. Penton, Brianna D. Price, Justin L. Quinn, Jacqueline Vieyra-Maciel and Ja’Starza S. White.

Ninth grade inductees were: Kristoffer I. Burch, Heidi L. Connel, Chrissy A. Fuller, Bria E. Graves, Brie L. Graves, Ryan M. Graves, Katelyn Green, Krysten L. Jones, Makaylie N. Kelley, Anthony J. Miller, Eric Cole Mims, Makayla Mims, Celeste N. Montgomery, Madelynn J. Nieto, Sabrasha D. Osborne, Selena N. Patterson, Sarah E. Sanford, Tessa N. Thompson and Candice M. Williams.

A reception was held for all new members and their parents at 10 a.m. before the ceremony.