Peachtree Bank to take on new name

Published 6:27 pm Thursday, February 20, 2014

Peachtree Bank President Darren Wilson recently announced that plans are underway to combine the four sister banks in the SouthCrest Financial Group Inc. family under one charter and one name, SouthCrest Bank, N.A.

“We have received regulatory approval to combine the four banks into one bank, which will be called SouthCrest Bank, N.A.,” Wilson said in a press release. “We’ve been working toward this goal for several years, and we are delighted to have the green light to join forces as one unified company. One of the major benefits of this will be to give our customers a larger branch network across Georgia and Alabama ready to serve their banking needs conveniently.”

The change will be official March 1. Bank signage will be updated to reflect the new name.

“Our organization operates 13 full-service bank branches with four different names across two states, and it’s better for our customers and better for our shareholders for us to unify under one name. We will be one bank, and we’re excited about having one name: SouthCrest Bank, N.A.”

Wilson said great care is being taken to make the transition a smooth one for all customers.

“Our customers can continue to use their existing checks and loan coupon books, regardless of the bank name that appears on these items,” Wilson said. “The convenience services such as online banking and mobile banking will remain the same as well.

“We have a long and proud history of service to the Maplesville and Clanton communities, and we plan to continue that strong involvement. If you have any questions or concerns, please contact me or any of our bank officers of employees.”

Peachtree Bank operates two full-service branches in Clanton and Maplesville and is part of the SouthCrest Financial Group Inc. family of community banks. Sister banks include Bank of Chickamauga (Chickamauga, Ga.), First National Bank of Polk County (Cedartown and Rockmart, Ga.) and SouthCrest Bank (Johns Creek, Luthersville, Manchester, Thomaston and Tyrone, Ga.).