Details set for Thorsby Swedish Festival on Saturday

Published 6:10 pm Friday, October 11, 2013

Thorsby will hold its 25th Swedish Festival on Saturday, with a full day of attractions planned to celebrate the town’s Scandinavian heritage.

Five new Swedish Festival queens were crowned this week leading up to the festival. The queens are Miss Makenzie Ray, Junior Miss Hannah Tierce, Young Miss Cameron McGhar, Little Miss Lexie Deavers and Tiny Miss Cambree Crumpton.

More than 80 girls participated in the pageants, coordinator Marika Porter said.

Saturday’s festivities will begin at 8 a.m. with the 5K Viking Run.

Line-up for the parade will begin at 8:30 a.m. at the old sewing factory in town, and the parade will begin at 9 a.m. The parade will travel south on Highway 31 and turn right across the railroad tracks just past Richard Wood Park. The parade will turn around the park and end at Thorsby High School.

Serving as grand marshals of the parade will be four members of the Swedish Festival Committee that began the event in 1988: Reita Price, Joann Head, Brenda Price and Betty Janney.

The car show will also begin at 9 a.m. Registration for the car show will begin at 8 a.m.

Thorsby Mayor Jean Nelson will give a welcome address at 10 a.m., followed by an opening prayer by Justin Caton and the THS band performing the National Anthem.

Then, the attention will turn to the various vendors set up at Richard Wood Park and different entertainment acts until the festival ends at 2 p.m.

“There will be all kinds of booths: crafts, food, games,” Porter said.

One of the booths will feature art created by local school children.

Also, the Thorsby Museum, located in the old bank building at the corner of Montgomery Avenue and Jones Street, will be open.

Following is a line-up of acts during the festival:

•Chilton Dance & Twirl (10:30 a.m.)

•Impact Martial Arts (10:50)

•Attitudes Batons (11:05)

•Anna Curtis Ballet (11:40)

•Announcements (noon)

•NEON TFB Youth Drama Team (12:15 p.m.)

•Just Dance (12:45)

•Jessie Minor (1 p.m.)

•Car/Motorcycle Awards and Prizes (2 p.m.)