Welch added to six incumbents on Chilton County Commission

Published 11:29 pm Tuesday, November 6, 2012

Six of the seven incumbents for the Chilton County Commission were re-elected on Tuesday with one newcomer, Shannon Welch, filling the seventh spot.

Welch, 28, said he was very pleased with the results and looks forward to serving on the commission.

“I am shocked that I had so many votes,” Welch said. “I look forward to serving on the commission and learning how things work in the county government.”

Welch said this was his first time running for a commission seat and he will basically fill former Commissioner M.L. “Red” Turnipseed’s seat.

Results for the commissioners included:

Commission Chairman Tim Mims, who has served 12 years on the commission received the most of votes with 19,657.

Welch will serve his first term and received the second highest number of votes with 12,817.

Commissioner Greg Moore will serve his second term on the commission and received the third highest number of votes with 12,638.

Commissioner Bobby Agee was elected as a commissioner in November 1988 and took office in January 1989 where he has served for 24 years and had the fourth highest number of votes with 11,670.

Commissioner Allen Caton has served on the commissioner for six years and received the fifth number of votes with 11,570.

Commissioner Joe Headley will begin his third term with the commission after serving eight years and receiving the sixth number of votes with 10,625.

Commissioner Heedy Hayes has served on the commission since 1992 and received the seventh most votes with 10,498.

Commissioner Greg Moore said he was happy with voter turnout and excited to serve another term.

“I think a lot of people showed up to the polls to vote in the presidential election, but it was a good turnout,” Moore said.

Robert Binion received 5,412 votes, Aubry Wallace received 7,520 votes, Dwight Swindle received 4,804 votes and Tommy Smitherman received 8,538 votes.

These numbers do not reflect the provisional ballots.