UPDATED: Municipal run-off election results in

Published 7:48 pm Tuesday, October 9, 2012

Maplesville, Jemison and Thorsby held run-off elections Tuesday and announced the winners of three tied races from municipal elections Aug. 28.

In Maplesville, W.C. Hayes defeated John Caudle for mayor 107–92, or 54 percent to 46 percent.

Hayes received 105 regular votes and two absentee votes for a total of 107 votes.

Caudle received 85 regular votes, four absentee votes and three provisional votes for a total of 92 votes.

After serving as a councilman, Hayes served two consecutive terms as mayor of Maplesville, from 2000–2008, and lost re-election in 2008 to now state Rep. Kurt Wallace.

“I’d like to thank everybody that went out and voted today, and especially the ones that voted for me,” Hayes said. “I’m going to do my best to do a good job.”

Hayes noted all incoming town council members are new to their positions.

“We are all in it as a team,” Hayes said of the council. “We want to do everything the best for the people of the town, not the best for us.”

Caudle received 85 regular votes and four absentee votes for a total of 89 votes. Caudle served as councilman for District 1 from 2008–2012.

In Jemison, Rex Bittle defeated Rusty Jones for the city council District 4 seat.

Bittle received 60 votes (68 percent), and Jones received 28 votes (32 percent), including absentee ballots.

In Thorsby, Randall Higgins defeated incumbent Willis Britt 177–172, or 51 percent to 49 percent.

Higgins received 168 regular votes and nine absentee votes for a total of 177 votes.

Britt received 170 regular votes and two absentee votes for a total of 172 votes.

All incoming mayors and council members will take office in November.