Former star Henley speaks at AU club kickoff party

Published 9:13 am Friday, August 31, 2012

About 130 Auburn fans and supporters attended the Chilton Auburn Club’s annual kickoff party held Aug. 23 at the Clanton First United Methodist Church Christian Life Center.

The party was tailgate themed and featured former Auburn running back Terry Henley as guest speaker.

As usual, Henley was a delight to hear and kept the audience laughing. One of Henley’s stories featured the 1972 “Amazin’s,” as the Auburn team was called that year for their ability to defy expectations. The Tigers had lost Heisman Trophy winning quarterback Pat Sullivan and All-American receiver Terry Beasley to graduation yet managed a 10-1 campaign and a No. 5 ranking in the final poll.

“It was just a great team,” Henley said. “I think most of the guys could not have started for another football team. They were a great bunch of guys.”

Along with some other humorous stories about his playing days, Henley recalled the simplicity of Auburn’s offense that season, noting a conversation he had with Tiger coach Ralph “Shug” Jordan prior to playing Ole Miss.

“At the opening of the game, coach Jordan was screaming and hollering in the dressing room, ‘We’re going to beat them with five plays!,'” Henley said. “We started out on the field, and I asked coach Jordan, ‘Five plays?’ He said, ‘Five, Terry. We’re going to beat them right here in their back yard with five plays.’ I told him, ‘We’ve only got eight, what are we saving them other three for?'”

Auburn University trustee Liz Huntley and her husband, Tony, were in attendance, and Liz graciously thanked the club for their support of Chilton County students and offered her assistance whenever needed.

In closing, the officers and board members for 2013 were introduced:

•President: Toni Miller

•Vice President: Cassie Bolling

•Second Vice President: Robert Hilyer

•Treasurer: Amber Darnell

•Secretary: Glenda Mims

•Board: David Joy, Terri Connell, Nyra Luster and Mary Beth Wyatt.

•Previous presidents include: Brian Paschal, Glenda Mims and Charles Bates, who are also members of the board.