Chilton County added to federal disaster declaration

Published 8:59 pm Monday, May 2, 2011

Chilton County, along with more than half of Alabama’s other counties, has been designated for disaster assistance as part of the state’s federal disaster declaration.

Gov. Robert Bentley’s staff made the announcement Monday evening. The announcement allows households and businesses to seek federal help to rebuild from the April 27 tornado outbreak.

Chilton joined Coosa, Pickens, Shelby and Talladega counties in Monday’s announcement. The total number of counties now designated for assistasnce is 36, more than half of Alabama’s 67.

“Alabamians are going to recover from this tragedy. I am thankful that the Federal Emergency Management Agency has added five more Alabama counties to the federal disaster declaration,” said Bentley. “These five new counties now have the maximum financial resources to pick up the pieces and start the recovery process.”

Counties previously designated are Autauga, Bibb, Blount, Calhoun, Cherokee, Choctaw, Colbert, Cullman, DeKalb, Elmore, Etowah, Fayette, Franklin, Greene, Hale, Jackson, Jefferson, Lawrence, Limestone Madison, Marengo, Marion, Marshall, Morgan, Sumter, St. Clair, Tallapoosa, Tuscaloosa, Washington, Walker and Winston.

“This is a huge step in rebuilding the lives of so many survivors who have lost what they have worked so hard for,” said AEMA Director Art Faulkner. “In the midst of so much bad news, I hope this provides a glimmer of hope.”

Affected survivors and business owners in all designated counties should apply for assistance by calling FEMA’s toll-free registration number, 800-621-FEMA (3362). The hearing or speech impaired can use the TTY line at 800-462-7585. The registration lines are available from 7 a.m. to 10 p.m., local time. An application may also be completed online by going to