Panthers pick up area shutouts

Published 6:08 pm Thursday, March 31, 2011

Jemison tennis player Drew Posey slams the ball to the ground during a doubles win over Brewbaker Tech on Thursday.

Jemison’s boys and girls tennis teams improved their playoff chances with shutout wins Thursday over Brewbaker Tech.

Both sets of Panthers won 9-0.

The win improves the boys to 10-2 on the season.

JHS is locked in a three-way battle with Dadeville and St. James for the two area positions that will qualify for the sectional tournament.

Jemison defeated Dadeville, 5-4, on March 3, and Dadeville defeated St. James by the same 5-4 score.

Another area match awaits on Friday, as Holtville visits.

It’s a home match but, like Thursday’s matches, will be played at Clanton City Park.

Jemison scheduled some of its competitions for Clanton this season because of uncertainty about the resurfacing of the Jemison City Park courts.

The courts have been resurfaced—for the first time in coach Benton Morton’s 10-year tenure. The Panthers played their first matches on the new surface on March 3 against Dadeville.

The improvements to the park also include new restroom and concession facilities.

Morton said the upgrades provide extra motivation for the players—and could mean larger home crowds.

“It’s going to be nice for the younger kids especially,” Morton said. “A big thanks to the city council.”

Jemison’s next match on the new surface will be April 14.

The JHS girls, meanwhile, improved their record to 3-9 with Thursday’s win.

Still, the Panthers have a chance to finish second in the area and earn a berth in the sectional.

Thursday’s girls singles winners were: Brooke Bice, Anna Davenport, Macey Thompson, Marissa Jones, Haley Smitherman and Carley Pate. Doubles winners were the combinations of Bice and Smitherman, Davenport and Tiffany Griffin, and Thompson and Jones.

The boys singles winners were: Cole Thompson, Drew Posey, William Morton, Taylor Long, Andrew Morton and Jake Long. The doubles teams of Posey and Jordan Jones, Andrew Morton and Jake Long, and Thompson and Nick Long were also victorious.