Advertiser names All-Area team

Published 12:22 pm Thursday, December 30, 2010

Maplesville senior Hunter McCay, right, earned first-team all-area honors in part because of the blocking of an offensive line that included fellow first teamer and classmate Dylan Wallace. Wallace also excelled as a defensive lineman.

Forty-two deserving players were chosen to comprise The Clanton Advertiser’s annual All-Area Football Team.

The first team features at least one player from each of the seven local schools—Billingsley, Chilton County, Isabella, Jemison, Maplesville, Thorsby and Verbena.

There are 25 players on the first team and 17 players on the honorable mention list.

Only two of the first teamers were not either a junior or senior; both linebacker Richard Hilliard of CCHS and receiver Anthony Johnson of Maplesville are sophomores.

Selections were made based on coaches’ nominations, statistics and overall team performance.
Look for season stats and the Advertiser’s player of the year and coach of the year to run next week.

The team includes:

Quarterback: Andrew Farris, Thorsby, Senior
Running back: Hunter McCay, Maplesville, Senior
Running back: Javae Swindle, Jemison, Junior
Receiver: Marcus Bray, Thorsby, Senior
Receiver: Eddie Hubbard, Jemison, Junior
Receiver: Anthony Johnson, Maplesville, Sophomore
Offensive line: Casey Atchison, Maplesville, Senior
Offensive line: Hunter Cowart, Jemison, Senior
Offensive line: Matt Nolin, Jemison, Senior
Offensive line: Blake Norman, Chilton Co., Senior
Offensive line: Tyler Vowell, Maplesville, Junior

Defensive line: Garrett Dennis, Verbena, Senior
Defensive line: Octavis Harris, Billingsley, Junior
Defensive line: Dylan Wallace, Maplesville, Senior
Linebacker: Erick Camarillo, Thorsby, Senior
Linebacker: Brandon Green, Isabella, Senior
Linebacker: Richard Hilliard, Chilton Co., Sophomore
Linebacker: Dylan Jackson, Chilton Co., Senior
Defensive back: Blake Edwards, Isabella, Senior
Defensive back: M.J. McKenzie, Jemison, Senior
Defensive back: Jacob McKinney, Chilton Co., Senior
Defensive back: Dustin Short, Verbena, Senior

Special teams
Kicker: Cruz Martinez, Jemison, Junior
Punter: Zach Headley, Chilton Co., Senior
Return specialist: Chris Felder, Chilton Co., Senior

Honorable mention
Isa Bentley, Jemison; Reggie Browder, Billingsley; Scott Clements, Jemison; Christian Coston, Verbena; Dylan Crocker, Thorsby; Cameron Cummings, Chilton Co.; Austin Haigler, Isabella; Matt Hamner, Maplesville; Devon Hardy, Billingsley; Phillip Hensley, Verbena; J.D. Lenoir, Isabella; Chace Lucas, Chilton Co.; James Madsen, Maplesville; Dariel Maul, Chilton Co.; Kalup Nunn, Thorsby; Jonathan Spivey, Thorsby; Dustin Wilson, Thorsby