Jada George dominates Powder Puffs

Published 10:32 pm Monday, June 28, 2010

Rains fell a few hours before the gates were set to open at Central Alabama Motor Speedway on June 26, but the shower didn’t hold back drivers competing in the mid-season points races.

The most entertaining event of the evening might have been the Powder Puffs division, which was made up of ladies that had never before driven a race car.

When the checkered flag came out after 8 laps, Jada George, No. 18 from Calera, took home the winner-takes-all winnings.

Racing actions returns to Central Alabama Motor Speedway on Saturday with all the regular weekly divisions. CAMS Mid-Season Points Awards will be handed out during intermission with the top three drivers from each division receiving trophies.

50/50 tickets are on sale every Saturday night. Gates open at 5 p.m.

To find the latest information on gate times, admissions and upcoming events, visit www.camspeedway.com or call the race hot line at (205)351-1044.

June 26 results

Barber Motorsports Crate Late Model/Sportsman

1)Mike Fields, No. 0, Calera; 2) J.R. Cobb, No. 12, Tallassee; 3)Randy Adams, No. 777, Fort Deposit; 4)Greg Wilkins, No. 12, Maplesville

Buddha’s Screen Printing Thunder Cars

1)Josh Bean, No. 8, Maplesville; 2)Larry “Shrek” Hatchett, No. 01, Altoona; 3)Justin Massey, No. 72, Tuscaloosa; 4)Roger Underwood, No. 36, Montevallo; 5)Keith Joiner, No. 111, Prattville; 6)J.R. Steele, No. 49, Centerville

L&L Forklift Hobby Cars

1)CR, No. 64, Valley Grand; 2)Brandon Till, No. 20, Clanton; 3)Jake Wilson, No. 44, Clanton; 4)Coonie Luker, No. 12, Magnolia; 5)Malcolm Callen, No. 47, Fort Deposit; (DNS)Mark Price, No. 02, Clanton

Chico’s Detail Shop Street Stocks

1)Mark Price, No. 02, Clanton; 2)Derrick Price, No. 42, Clanton; 3)Mike Garris, No. 03, Clanton; 4)Eric Hilyer, No. 4, Slapout; 5)Van Howell, Jr., No. 13, Montevallo; 6)Chris Howell, No. 1, Columbiana; 7)Alan Banks, No. 17, Gordo; 8)Chris Hilyer, No. 55, Slapout; 9)Wayne Johnson, No. 50, Lowdenboro

Hutch Construction Super Ponies

1)Don Moncrief, No. 88, Alabaster; 2)Wesley Boothe, No. 87, Montevallo; 3)P.J. Williams, No. 20, Pelham; 4)Kevin Crocker, No. 0, Centerville; 5)Eddie Pickett, No. 44, Montevallo; 6)Eddie Woods, No. 45, Calera; 7)Benny Pickett, No. 4, Montevallo; 8)Curt Oaks, No. 14, Maylene; 9)Blake Rinehart, No. 31, Northport; 10)Andy Pickett, No. 36, Montevallo; (DNS)Jeff Massey, No. 07, Tuscaloosa

Eagles Auto Sales Buzz Car/Pure Ponies

1)Terry Merrett, No. 5, Slapout; 2)Jimmy Massey, No. 10, Alabaster; 3)Toby Pace, No. 00, Grady; 4)Lisa Woods, No. 18, Calera; 5)Jeremy Forsythe, No. 02, Odenville; 6)Spud Brasher, No. 68, Calera; 7)Kyle Smith, No. 13, Clanton; 8)Derek White, No. 8, Highland Home; 9)Joey Lowery, No. 17, Calera; 10)Ray Perry, No. 7, Centerville; 11)Barbara Bright, No. 97, Centerville; 12)Davey Horton, No. 75, Columbiana; 13)T.J. Partridge, No. 25, Shelby; 14)Jordan Wilkins, No. 6, Clanton; 15)Ronnie Franklin, No. 13, Pleasant Grove; 16)Matt Glenn, No. 88, Jemison


1)Ronald Bishop, No. 8, Pelham; 2)James Ganey, Sr., No. 64, Childersburg; 3)Duck Owens, No. 85, Greenville; 4)Al “Big Al” Barrett, No. 63, Jemison

Powder Puff

1)Jada George, No. 18, Calera

Barber Motorsports Little Dirt Speeders (4- to 8-year-olds)

1)Lane Bishop, 2)Lane Price, 3)Stephanie Price

9- to 12-year-olds

1)Caitlyn Price, 2)Bethany Dawkins, 3)Shilah Conn