Locals riders finish 1-2-3 overall

Published 10:35 pm Friday, April 2, 2010

Clanton Track and Trails hosted the annual Yellow Leaf Creek Harescramble on March 28.

The race was co-sanctioned by Southern Enduro Riders Association and South East Trail Riders Association.

One hundred fifty-eight contenders took to the 11-mile course, where only 49 would complete the 4-lap event.

Cliff Ousley brought home top SERA honors by claiming second overall on the day, followed 2.02 minutes later by cousin Tyler Carter, newcomer to the AA class this season.

Frank Davis, a seasoned veteran, finished in the final podium position for SERA.

The rugged course consisted of rocks, tight trails, open woods and creeks, with riders either crossing them or riding down them.

Other local riders to excel on the day were Chris McMillan, sixth overall SERA and second in Open A; Hunter Sanders, sixth in Lites A; David Summers and Adrian Gervais, fifth and sixth, respectively, in Vet A; Will Gilbert, fourth in Sr. A; Jonathon Seales and Jacob Davis, third and sixth in Lites B; Jason Brasington, third in Vet B; Brian Lewis and Chris Aultman, third and eighth in Lites C; Neal Ousley, Beau Burnett, Blake Terry, and Rolie Barrett, first, second, third and fourth in Jr.; Ted Anz, third in Super Sr.; and Phillip McMillan, second in Golden Masters.

In the Kids Races that were held earlier that morning, several local competitors fared well.

In the Beginner Pee Wee Class, Grayson Davis finished a close second.

Four locals went for the win in the Pee Wee Class, with Austin Anz claiming the hole shot and never relinquishing the lead.

Ethan Gregg, Connor Barrett and Hayden Gilbert were next through the scoring tent.

Kyler Godwin and Jackson Davis claimed the top two positions in the Intermediate Kids Class as Godwin passed everyone in the Vet Kids Class except for the first two positions.

And the first two in the Vet Kids were Trent Whisenant, who got around second-place Landon Barrett on the first lap after he overshot a turn. Third place went to Harrison Caver, followed by Colton Castleberry and Ryan Gilbert.

Kels Duke claimed first in the Girls Class.