2010 racing season underway at CAMS

Published 7:13 pm Wednesday, March 17, 2010

The weather was perfect on March 6 for the 2010 season opener at the newly re-opened Central Alabama Motor Speedway.

Each division had a good representation of cars. The feature race division of the night was the L&L Forklift Hobby Cars.

Earlier in the afternoon, the Hobby division had two heat races. Brad Underwood, No. 7, of Clanton won the first heat race to lock himself in the pole position for the feature event.

The second heat race winner was Wade Carlee, No. 48, of McCalla, front row outside for the feature event.

When the green flag came out at the start of the race, Carlee drove hard to maintain the first-place position throughout the entire event.

From the start of the race, Underwood dropped back to the third-place position, moving Brandon Till, No. 20, of Clanton to the second-place position.

Till kept this position until Lap 9.

Stanley Roper, No. 14, of Maplesville worked his way to the second-place spot from his original starting position of third row inside.

This event only would see one caution.

When the checkered flag came out, Carlee had earned first-place winnings, Roper second place and Till third place.

Racing action will continue each Saturday night at Central Alabama Motor Speedway through November.

For the latest information and a list of upcoming events, visit www.camspeedway.com or call the race hotline at (205) 351-1044. The Web site also has the latest 2010 feature winners photos.

Results from March 6

Barber Motorsports Crate Late Model/Sportsman

1: Billy Franklin, No. 17, Alabaster; 2: Matt Woodson, No. 88; 3: Sam Hughes, No. 35, Pelham; 4: Chris Howell, No. 1, Columbiana; 5: Justin Cleckler, No. 3C, Billingsley

Buddha’s Screen Printing Thunder Car’s

1: Johnny Dawson, No. 42, Montevallo; 2: Josh Bean, No. 8, Maplesville; 3: J.R. Steel, No. 49, Centreville; 4: Charles Davis, No. 28, Highland Home

L&L Forklift Hobby Cars

1: Wade Carlee, No. 48, McCalla; 2: Stanley Roper, No. 14, Maplesville; 3: Brandon Till, No. 20, Clanton; 4: Brad Underwood, No. 7, Clanton; 5: Jake Wilson, No. 11, Clanton; 6: Dewayne Littleton, Clanton; 7: Brandon Wells, No. 55; 8: Kenny Smitherman, No. 16, Billingsley; 9: Darrell Tumlin, No. 8T, Locust Fork.

Chico’s Detail Shop Street Stocks

1: Greg Wilkins, No. 01, Clanton; 2: Jerry Lewis, No. 7K; 3: Michael Hard, No. 8; 4: Rick Bing, No. 85; 5: Stacy Smith, No. 42; 6: Jimmie Cutler, No. 21, Marbury

Super Ponys

1: Don Moncrief, No. 88, Alabaster; 2: Benny Pickett, No. 4, Montevallo; 3: Brian Hurst, No. 46; 4: Mike Rominger, No. 7M; 5: Eddie Picket, No. 44, Montevallo; 6: Mike Wortham, No. 54, Rainbow City; (DNS) Eddie Woods, No. 17, Calera

Eagles Auto Sales Buzz Car/Pure Ponys

1: Terry Merritt, No. 5, Deatsville; 2: Patrick Wallace, No. 13, Birmingham; 3: Barbara Bright, No. 7, Childersburg; 4: Lisa Woods, No. 18, Calera