Students awarded degrees at Montevallo

Published 8:31 pm Wednesday, August 19, 2009

More than 120 University of Montevallo students received diplomas during summer commencement Aug. 14.

The commencement speaker was Margaret Gunter, director of communications and governmental relations for the Alabama Commission on Higher Education.

Following the address, Dr. Philip C. Williams, UM president, awarded degrees to 73 candidates for bachelor’s degrees, 32 candidates for master’s degrees and 18 candidates for the educational specialist degree.

After students received their diplomas, Karen Kelly, National Alumni Association president, inducted graduates into the 21,000-member organization.

The following local students earned degrees Friday:

Calera: Neely Elizabeth Clayton, EDS; James Norris Coleman, EDS; Felicia W. Lee; EDS; Amiee N. Marsalis; BS; Melissa J. McMurray; MED; Evelyn R. Moore; MED; and Gabriel J. Rosser, BS.

Clanton: Angel L. Allen, BS; and Stacy C. Conner, BS.

Jemison: Jeffery DeWayne Jones, BBA.

Lawley: Joseph T. Itson, BBA.

Montevallo: Erin M. Aslin, BM; Katherine A. Button, EDS; Lucrece Laverdure, BS; Teresa Smotherman, MED; Laura S. Wadsworth, MED; Darby L. Wesson, MED; and Tiffany T. Westry, BA.

Thorsby: Nathan M. Hayes, BS.