All-stars almost to Birmingham

Published 10:42 pm Friday, May 22, 2009


26-Clint Martin-3B-Wetumpka

27-Channing Ellis-P, 2B-Tallassee

28-Cody Weems-C, OF-Beauregard

30-Will Davis-P, 3B, 1B-Montgomery Acad.

31-Xavier Cunningham-P, 1B-Jeff Davis

32-Hunter Brooks-OF, P-Brewtech

33-T.J. Oates-SS-Holtville

34-Jordan Creel-OF-Ala. Christian

35-Tyler Sheridan-P, OF-Opelika

36-Brady Newman-C, INF-Reeltown

37-Jarod Turnage-INF, OF-Cen. Phenix City

38-Dillion Patterson-2B-Ala. Christian

41-Miller Norman-3B-LAMP

42-Hayden Hilyer-OF, P-Beauregard

43-Zach Helewski-P-Smiths Station

44-Adam Pouncey-C-Montgomery Catholic

45-Adam Davenport-C-Elmore Co.

47-Cody Seay-P, OF-Lee-Montgomery

48-Kendall Graveman-P-Benjamin Russell

49-Kyle Brown-1B-Beauregard


1-Jace Watkins-P, OF-Bibb Co.

2-Antonio Landrum-Util-Sweet Water

3-Justin Veazey-Util-Chilton Co.

4-Shelby Speegle-P, OF-Demopolis

5-Tanner Powell-OF-Chilton Co.

6-Nelson Wagner-INF, C-Paul W. Bryant

7-Evan Bryan-OF-Thorsby

8-Josh Robertson-OF-Northside

9-Trent Posey-OF-Calera

10-Seth Booth-SS-Tuscaloosa Co.

11-Wes Lawrence-P, OF-Billingsley

12-Dalton James-P, 1B-Prattville

13-Devin Young-P, Util-Holy Spirit

14-Andrew Rushing-OF-Demopolis

15-Jim Bob Hutchinson-2B, P-Northside

18-T.J. Henley-P-Chilton Co.

19-Jacob Kirby-1B, P-Demopolis

21-Kris Lowrey-1B, 3B-Jemison

22-Chris Hammig-OF-Tuscaloosa Co.

23-Koby Smitherman-C, 3B-West Blocton

Six local baseball players will compete Saturday for a chance to visit Birmingham next weekend for the final round of the 57th annual East-West tournament.

Sixteen players from Saturday’s game at Clanton’s Jack Hayes Field will be selected to represent the central Alabama region. 40 players are on the two rosters for Saturday, which will feature two 7-inning games beginning at 1 p.m.

Admission will be $5 and $2 for kids 10 or younger.

Local players will include: Wes Lawrence from Billingsley; T.J. Henley, Tanner Powell and Justin Veazey from Chilton County High; Kris Lowrey from Jemison; and Evan Bryan from Thorsby.

All the local players will suit up for the West squad, which will also include players from Bibb County, Calera, Demopolis, Holy Spirit, Northside, Paul W. Bryant, Prattville, Sweet Water, Tuscaloosa County and West Blocton. The East squad will include players from Alabama Christian, Beauregard, Benjamin Russell, Brewbaker Tech, Catholic-Montgomery, Central Phenix City, Elmore County, Holtville, Jeff Davis, LAMP, Lee-Montgomery, Montgomery Academy, Opelika, Reeltown, Smiths Station, Tallassee and Wetumpka.

The previous round of the tournament was also held at Jack Hayes Field, and Clanton Lions Club member Richard Davis said the event usually makes about $700, which is used by the Clanton Evening Lions Club to benefit the Alabama Sight program.

“A lot of folks put in a lot of time to do this,” Davis said.