Clanton swears in council

Published 2:00 am Tuesday, November 4, 2008

City Attorney John Hollis Jackson issued the oath of office to install four council members and mayor for the City of Clanton yesterday morning.

Taking the oath were council members Mary Mell Smith, Bobby Easterling, Jeff Price and Bobby Cook. Billy Joe Driver was also installed for another term as mayor.

Jackson told the large crowd in the city council room that the Ward 4 council position would not be filled until after a contest of the election is completed in Circuit Court.

Last Thursday, Judge John Bush ruled the city could not install a council member for Ward 4. He set a court hearing on the election contest filed by the Ward 4 run-off runner-up, Greg DeJarnett, for Friday morning at 9 a.m. here.

Speaking on behalf of those installed as officers, Driver asked those present to “Hold us up in your prayers. We are faced with things that many of you never know anything about.”

At the conclusion of the ceremony, Driver presented former Clanton Police Chief James Henderson with a plaque for his many years of service to the people of Clanton and Chilton County. Henderson retired after serving 18 years as chief of police.

“We appreciate the work you have done for us and we will miss you,” Driver said. “I pray God will be with you and bless you in your future endeavors.”

– Mike Kelley can be reached at

Thorsby has vacancy on council

Probate Judge Bobby Martin swore in Thorsby’s new mayor and council last night at Helen Jenkins Chapel.

The new mayor is Dearl Hilyer, and the council members are Neil Benson, Tara Jewel, Jean Nelson and Willis Britt.

Following a reception, the new mayor and council met for a brief organizational meeting. In that meeting, they vacated the position left open by James Shropshire, who won the election but has since moved out of state. Nelson was also named the mayor pro-tem.

The council also passed a resolution to receive letters of interest from residents in the town limits of Thorsby for the open seat on the council. The deadline is Nov. 10 at 4 p.m. At a later meeting, the council will appoint someone to fill Shropshire’s vacancy.

– Brent Maze

Maplesville welcomes new mayor

Kurt Wallace was sworn in as the Town of Maplesville’s new Mayor. After taking oaths, Wallace, new council members John Caudle and Jim Threadgill and existing council members Aubrey Latham and Mike Bearden called the meeting to order.

Wallace’s first acts as mayor consisted of appointing Sheila Haigler as town clerk, Cindy Brown as court clerk, Todd Ingram as police chief, John Hollis as town attorney, Bill Latham as municipal judge, and Chris Speaks as municipal prosecutor. The council approved all positions appointed.

The council then amended ordinance 138 approving the Maplesville Town Meeting to change nights from the second Monday at 5:30 p.m. to the second Tuesday at 6 p.m.

– Ashley McCartney