Hilyer beats Bentley

Published 10:48 pm Tuesday, October 7, 2008

Dearl Hilyer defeated incumbent Mayor Tom Bentley in a landslide, taking more than 70 percent of the vote.

In Clanton, new faces will fill seats in both Wards 1 and 4. Jeffrey Price easily defeated Ward 1 incumbent Ronnie Porter by more than a 2-1 margin. William Trimble overcame a deficit to Greg DeJarnett in the August general election to win Ward 4 last night by 14 votes.

In Thorsby, Hilyer received 362 votes while Bentley received only 154, which was lower than his total in the regular election in August.

Hilyer said last night that he was excited about the results of the election.

“The people of Thorsby wanted a change, and they got it,” he said. “Now, I’ve got to do my part to live up to that.”

Hilyer said it was a clean race. His approach involved going door-to-door and a lot of phone calls.

“We tried to do as much face-to-face campaigning as possible,” he said. “I look forward to working with everyone.”

Although Bentley was disappointed with the results, he is still proud of the job that he and the council have done over the last eight years.

“I’m proud of what we’ve gotten done over the last eight years,” he said. “We got a lot done. There’s still more to do, and I wish Dearl good luck.”

The mayor-elect will be working with council members Neil Benson, Willis Britt, Tara Jewel and Jean Nelson. A new person must be appointed to the council since former council member James Shropshire has moved to Oklahoma.

The final results in Clanton Ward 1 were 465 for Price and 212 for Porter while Ward 4 had Trimble collecting 112 votes and DeJarnett 98.

That means there will be three new council members in Clanton. The other new person is Bobby Cook. Incumbents Mary Mell Smith and Bobby Easterling won in the regular election along with incumbent Mayor Billy Joe Driver.

In Jemison, Mayor Eddie Reed will be serving another term as mayor with council members George Brasher, Danny Robinson, Robert Morris, Faye King and Sam Reed.

In Maplesville, Mayor-Elect Kurt Wallace will be serving with council members John Caudle, Mike Bearden, Aubrey Latham, Ray Mitchell and Jim Treadgill.

– Scott Mims contributed to this report.