Municipal election deadline is today

Published 8:06 pm Thursday, August 14, 2008

Anyone who plans on casting a ballot in the Aug. 26 municipal elections must be registered to vote by the end of today.

All who have not registered must go to the Board of Registrars located on the first floor of the Chilton County Courthouse. According to workers in the registrar’s office, no identification is required to fill out an application.

All a resident must do is fill out the registration form, which will ask for the person’s address and his or her driver’s license or the last four digits of the social security number. The person’s registration card will not be issued when they sign up for registration, however. It will instead be mailed out to the new voter.

While no ID is required to register, identification is required when a person votes on election day. About 30 forms of ID – anything from a driver’s license to a utility bill – are acceptable at the polls.

Those who will not be able to vote at the polls on Aug. 26 can apply for an absentee ballots. Applications can be picked up from each town’s municipal clerk.

All applications for absentee ballots must be turned in by Aug. 21.

All four municipalities in Chilton County will be holding elections for city offices on Aug. 26.

In Clanton, all five wards and the mayor’s positions will be elected. Those qualified for the election are:

Mayor – Billy Joe Driver, Ann Baker and Ralph Payton.

Ward 1 – Kendra Williams, Ronnie Porter, Jarrad Bates, Bill Neussl and Jeff Price.

Ward 2 – Vann Smith, Mark Knight and Bobby Cook.

Ward 3 – Bobby Easterling and Sammy Wilson.

Ward 4 – Annie Winters Varner, Greg DeJarnett, Juanita Parker and William Trimble.

Ward 5 – Mary Mell Smith and Paul Brooks.

In Jemison, those up for election include:

Mayor – Eddie Reed, Kenneth Ray and Brian “Bucky” Jackson.

District 1: Raybon Ellison and George Brasher.

District 2: Danny Robinson and Steve Howard.

District 3: Robert Morris and Vester “Junior” Robinson.

In Thorsby, candidates appearing the ballot include:

Mayor – Tom Bentley, Tracia Bussey and Dearyl Hilyer.

Place 4 – James Shropshire and Harry Adkins.

Place 5 – Tara Jewell and Jack Allen.

In Maplesville, the only two candidates on the ballot will be W.C. Hayes and Kurt Wallace, who are both running for mayor.