Number of election qualifiers growing

Published 1:10 pm Wednesday, July 9, 2008

Maplesville is running behind the rest of Chilton County as candidates continue to qualify for mayoral and council positions.

Mayoral candidates, W.C Hayes and Kurt Wallace, are still without council qualifiers.

“Some of them have come in and picked up packets, but haven’t qualified yet,” Sheila Haigler said of the hush-hush participation.

Haigler said she thinks many of the candidates will wait until closer to the deadline to qualify.

Jemison reports a few new qualifiers for town council. Raybon Ellison, Danny Robinson and Robert Morris have qualified for council.

Kenneth Ray and Eddie Reed remain as the only two mayoral candidates.

Clanton still has the most candidate participation with 12 qualifiers for council and three mayor qualifiers.

Ralph Payton is the most recent candidate to qualify for mayor. Bill Neussl has qualified for Ward 1 on city council. Paul Banks has turned in his qualification packet for Ward 5, and Greg DeJarnett and Juanita Parker have both qualified for Ward 4 in Clanton. Bobby Cook qualified earlier last week for Ward 2.

Thorsby has several qualifying candidates for town council places. For Place 1, Neil Benson has qualified. Jean Nelson has qualified for Place 2. Willis Britt has qualified for Place 3, and Jack Allen and Tara Jewell have qualified for Place 5. No candidates have turned in qualifying packets for Place 4 on the town council.

Dearl Hilyer has also qualified as of yesterday for mayor alongside Tom Bentley, the incumbent, and Tracia Bussey.

Prospective candidates, remember the deadline for applications for municipal office is Tuesday, July 15.