District 49 election final results

Published 8:53 pm Tuesday, November 17, 2020

Getting your Trinity Audio player ready...

Russell Bledsoe has won the special election for District 49 after receiving 63.18% (1,599) of the votes in the Nov. 17 election.

Democratic Cheryl Patton received 36.74% (930) of the vote.

Voter turnout was 8.33%.

This special election was held to fill the position previously held by April Weaver before she received a federal appointment to be a Regional Director for the Department of Health and Human Services.

“We offer our congratulations to Russell Bedsole on his apparent victory. He will be a welcome addition to our majority in the Alabama House of Representatives. His platform and core convictions on the issues mirror those of his constituents and our Party. We look forward to working with Russell and thank him for his willingness to serve,” Alabama Republican Party Chairman Terry Lathan said.