Archived Story

Local baseball players named to sports writers’ All-State Team

Published 12:56pm Monday, June 16, 2014

Editor’s note: Below is the varsity baseball all-state team as compiled by the Alabama Sports Writers Association.

Class 6A

P – Brax Garrett, Foley, So.

P – Braden Olive, Northview, Sr.

P – Jake Walters, Thompson, Sr.

P – Mason Duke, Spain Park, Jr.

C – Hayden White, Prattville, Sr.

1B – Matthew Christian, Opelika, Jr.

2B – Lee Clark, Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa, Sr.

3B – Kyle Wright, Buckhorn, Sr.

SS – Matt Sanders, Bob Jones, Sr.

OF – Keith Holcombe, Hillcrest-Tuscaloosa, Sr.

OF – Jamal Howard, Central-Phenix City, Sr.

OF – Sam Finnerty, Pelham, Jr.

DH – Austin Haight, Spain Park, Sr.

DH – Tanner Burns, Decatur, Fr.

UTL – Whitt Davis, Huntsville, Jr.

UTL – Will Sipes, Sparkman, Jr.

Pitcher of the Year: Jake Walters, Thompson

Hitter of the Year: Sam Finnerty, Pelham

Player of the Year: Sam Finnerty, Pelham

Coach of the Year: Will Smith, Spain Park

Class 5A

P – Jesse McCord, Spanish Fort, Sr.

P – Auston Neal, Cullman, Sr.

P – Drew Mullinax, Southside-Gadsden, Sr.

P – Zac Rogers, Benjamin Russell, Sr.

C – Brian Lane, Spanish Fort, Sr.

1B – Lance Cleveland, Cullman, Sr.

2B – Colton Thomas, Marbury, Sr.

3B – Tyler Oates, Demopolis, Sr.

SS – Jared Nixon, Marbury, Jr.

OF – Malik Rosier, Faith Academy, Sr.

OF – Jordan Brown, Rehobeth, Sr.

OF – Owen Lovell, Cullman, Fr.

DH – Brett Blackwood, Hartselle, Sr.

DH – Ben Rhodes, East Limestone, Sr.

UTL – Ethan Simmons, Briarwood Christian, Sr.

UTL – Will Luft, Spanish Fort, Sr.

Pitcher of the Year: Jesse McCord, Spanish Fort

Hitter of the Year: Owen Lovell, Cullman

Player of the Year: Jesse McCord, Spanish Fort

Coach of the Year: Matt Ream, Rehobeth

Class 4A

P – Cody Reed, Ardmore, Sr.

P – Jonah Todd, Oak Grove, Sr.

P – John Michael Stephens, Charles Henderson, Sr.

P – Garrett Deloney, Alabama Christian, Sr.

C – Chase Smartt, Charles Henderson, Jr.

1B – Austin Ingram, Charles Henderson, Jr.

2B – Hunter Musso, Oneonta, Sr.

3B – Brady Bedingfield, Brooks, Sr.

SS – Dalton Cobb, Alexandria, Jr.

OF – John Johnson, Charles Henderson, Sr.

OF – Chandler Taylor, Alabama Christian, Jr.

OF – Luke Wall, Oneonta, Jr.

DH – Riley Phillips, Brooks, Jr.

DH – Troy Dixon, UMS-Wright, Jr.

UTL – Nathan Langley, Beauregard, Sr.

UTL – Clayton Daniel, Guntersville, Sr.

Pitcher of the Year: Cody Reed, Ardmore

Hitter of the Year: Chase Smartt, Charles Henderson

Player of the Year: Cody Reed, Ardmore

Coach of the Year: Andrew Smith, Ardmore

Print Friendly

Editor's Picks

From first impressions to family

Three years and three months ago, I walked into the Advertiser office with a notebook, a pen and roughly two months of experience working at ... Read more

County Chamber of Commerce to sponsor ‘Trick or Treat Streets’

“We have gotten a great response from the downtown businesses and also from businesses county-wide,” said Brittani Ellison, executive assistant for the Chilton County Chamber ... Read more

Chilton County Arts Festival to include jazz concert, ballet

“The annual event has drawn sizeable crowds for the past three years, and we are offering even more reasons to attend this year than ever ... Read more