Archived Story

CCHS runner named to all-state team

Published 10:15am Friday, December 28, 2012

The 2012 Alabama Sports Writers Association All-State team includes three local football players.

Chilton County senior running back Michael Seaton was the only local player named to the first-team, while fellow CCHS seniors Richard Hilliard and Austin Rossi along with Maplesville senior Brandon Morrow were named honorable mention.

Hilliard made the list as a linebacker, Rossi as a tight end and Morrow as a punter.

The All-State team was chosen by a panel of the state’s high school writers earlier this month.

Nominations were solicited from high school coaches by newspapers in their area as well as the ASWA; not every school responded to the request for information, but more than 1,100 players statewide were nominated.

Alabama Sports Writers Association 2012 All-State Football Team



QB – Jeremy Johnson, Carver-Montgomery, Sr., 6-6, 219

RB – Julius McCall, Chelsea, Sr., 5-10, 180

RB – Racean Thomas, Oxford, Jr., 6-0, 200

RB – Berron Tyson, Baker, Sr., 5-9, 170

WR – Brian Clark, Clay-Chalkville, Jr., 6-3, 195

WR – Michael Powers, Hoover, Sr., 5-8, 170

TE – Jakell Mitchell, Opelika, Jr., 6-3, 210

OL – Austin Golson, Prattville, Sr., 6-5, 285

OL – Grant Hill, Huntsville, Sr. 6-6, 290

OL – Harrison Louden, McGill-Toolen, Sr., 6-5, 286

OL – Darius Preyer, Carver-Montgomery, Sr., 6-1, 266

OL – John Grady Welden, Mountain Brook, Sr., 6-3, 267

K – Robert Greene, Clay-Chalkville, Sr., 5-9, 160

ATH – Nate Andrews, Fairhope, Sr., 6-1, 205


DB – Marlon Humphrey, Hoover, Jr., 6-0, 180

DB – Stuart Jacobs, Vestavia Hills, Sr., 5-9, 175

DB – Stephen Roberts, Opelika, Jr., 6-0, 175

DB – Marquez White, Northview, Sr., 6-1, 173

LB – Bryan Brower, Stanhope Elmore, Sr., 5-10, 195

LB – Drew Davis, Bob Jones, Sr., 6-1, 200

LB – Reuben Foster, Auburn, Sr., 6-2, 235

LB – Shaun Hamilton, Carver-Montgomery, Jr., 6-2, 219

DL – Daniel Clayton, Clay-Chalkville, Sr., 6-0, 225

DL – Parker Cothren, Hazel Green, Sr., 6-5, 265

DL – Rashaan Evans, Auburn, Jr., 6-3, 215

DL – Na’Vante Williams, Decatur, Sr., 6-0, 240

P – Tripp Burnett, Prattville, So., 5-11, 185

ATH: Thomas Hill, Grissom, Sr., 5-11, 180

Coach of the Year: Brian Blackmon, Opelika

Print Friendly

Editor's Picks

Verbena football title trophy found, to be returned to school

“We’re excited about getting that trophy back to the school," Verbena Principal Kelvin Boulware said. Read more

Fair may have found a temporary home at Clanton City Park

Fair organizers moved the event away from its long-time location when it became a safety hazard for the adjacent Chilton County Airport. Read more