Archived Story

Church News for Thursday, July 26

Published 7:44pm Wednesday, July 25, 2012

Shiloh Baptist

It was a very nice Sunday morning and even nicer being inside in the cool, worshiping the Lord.

Bro. John Parrish led the call to worship –“This is the Day,” followed by “He Leadeth Me! O Blessed Thought.” Jenny Mims delighted us all with “He Was Thinking of Me,” and Dennis Connell topped it off with “Life of This World.”

Bro. Earnest Fike brought the message from Matthew 6:24-34 and Luke 16:19. He reminded us to live like there’s no tomorrow. We are never promised tomorrow; no need to worry about what you should eat, drink or wear. God promised if we seek the kingdom and his righteousness, all theses things will be given to you. Therefore, don’t worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own. Have faith. The invitational hymn was “I Have Decided to Follow Jesus.”

Please pray for all those involved in the Colorado shooting and for our country.

Happy Birthday to: Jan Fike and Billy Carter.

July 29: Sunday hymn singing and ice cream social beginning at 5 p.m.

Aug. 4: Youth car wash at Clanton Tire and Auto, 8 a.m. Volunteers and supplies needed.

Walnut Creek UMC

A musical special, “Liberty,” was presented Saturday night; it was another great success by our Minster of Music, Lisa Abott and her fine choir.

The choir handled the presentations of “The Star Spangled Banner,” “Patriot’s Song,” “America, the Greatest and Best Medley,” “When Johnny Comes Marching Home,” “Salute To the Armed Forces Medley” and “My Country ‘tis of Thee.”

Individual efforts included Zac Culpepper and Lisa Abbott on “America the Beautiful;” Katye Culpepper and Joan McGriff on “50 States in Rhyme;” Larry Handley, banjo on “O, Susanna;” Philip and Wade Cook on “Home on the Range;” Hailey Calloway on “Dixieland;” Hunter Abott, harmonica on “Shenandoah;” Irene Crossiant on “Johnny has Gone for a Soldier;” Lally Bates on “The Pledge of Allegiance.”

The adult choir consists of: Benjie Abbott, Aubie Childress, Irene Croissant, Kayte Culpepper, Zac Culpepper, David Florea, Debra Florea, Nickki Gore, Diane Handley, Lori Harris, Shirley Henley, Beth Hughes, Tony Hughes, Duane Jones, Virginia Littlefield, Joan McGriff, Russell McGriff, Carolyn Maddox,

Jim Popwell, Norma Popwell and Edna Wallace.

Sound was run by Roger Littlefield and video by Triston Gore.

Print Friendly

Editor's Picks

Mustangs fight all the way to softball state finals

Isabella's 2015 softball team became the first squad in school history to play in a state championship game in any sport. Read more