Archived Story

Candidates set for municipal elections

Published 5:45pm Tuesday, July 17, 2012


•Mayor: Eddie Reed (i), Faye King

•District 1: George Brasher (i), Jeff Townsend

•District 2: Donnie Lane (i), James “Jim” Henderson

•District 3: Robert Morris (i)

•District 4: Rex Bittle, Russell “Rusty” W. Jones

•District 5: Sam Reed (i)


•Mayor: John D. Caudle, W.C. Hayes Jr., Ray C. Mitchell

•District 1: Hal Harrison, Jimmy Jones

•District 2: Mike Bearden (i), Sheila Hall, Jennifer Kamerer

•District 3: Michael Abbott (i), Hilda Atchison

•District 4: Richard W. Davis, Wesley Rager

•District 5: Jim Threadgill (i), Patty Crocker


•Mayor: Dearl Hilyer (i), Tara Hunt Jewell

•District 1: Neil Benson (i)

•District 2: Jean Nelson (i)

•District 3: Willis Britt (i), Robert Bland, Randall Higgins, Michael Patterson

•District 4: Marvin Crumpton (i)

•District 5: Roger Marcus

Election day will be Tuesday, Aug. 28. Polls will be open from 7 a.m. to 7 p.m. A run-off election will be held Tuesday, Oct. 9, if necessary.

Thursday, Aug. 23 is the last day voters can apply for a regular absentee ballot.

The newly elected mayors and council members will take office Monday, Nov. 5.

Print Friendly

Editor's Picks

Curtis Smith resigns as chairman of United Way

“My life has been a life of service,” Smith said. “When I wake up in the morning, I try to think of somebody I can ... Read more